Into the looking glass..

I stare blankly into space, a small diary lies in front of me, empty and embroidered in lace. The dimly lit room is enchanted by music and the rich aroma of coffee seduces the air. Outside all is calm, a sky of black ink stretches far and a mosaic of stars give birth to light.

Life is long yet goes so fast and, at times, one finds themselves wishing away the hours as they creep by. I would love to write to you about how to truly appreciate life, yet to be honest I am not yet a master of that art and I like you, simply a student learning and growing from the teacher that is the universe.

Inevitably life will change, change is the only constant. We mourn the loss of time, nostalgically yearning for times that have been, regrettably dreaming of things that we should have seen. Through this process forgetting the now and forgetting how at that point way back then we probably dreamed for ‘other’ times. With memories flooding our emotions, it’s important to remember, you cannot bring these times back and the clock will continue ticking, if you didn’t do something there is a reason as to why and leave it at that.

To truly appreciate life is I feel one of the first steps to a fulfilling, balanced and creative life. As blossoms fall and streams flow, inspiration is everywhere. To see it, feel it and appreciate it though is the (at times) difficult part.

The room around me is a mess, and I do feel the want to clean and sort out the clutter which is slowly (but surely) engulfing my living space. I myself have been practicing more and more to appreciate everyday as it comes, I feel I had strayed from a path I set out on, though have found myself back on course and this fills me with inspiration.

“The beauty and charm of selfless love and service should not die away from the face of the earth. The world should know that a life of dedication is possible, that a life inspired by love and service to humanity is possible. Our compassion and acts of selflessness take us to the deeper truths. Detached,selfless action leads to liberation. Such action is not just work; it is karma yoga. ” — Mata Amritanandamayi

Until next time my darling..

8 thoughts on “Into the looking glass..

  1. A very deep, insightful and honest piece of writing. I completely agree about how life is long but yet passes by so fast. I think after a certain age, you feel it even more slipping away in front of your very own eyes. And yes, we are forever learning. I once heard someone say that people are always learning and will do so until the day you no longer exist in this world. I totally can agree on this too and feel that there’s no ending to learning, its a life long process after all. Hence, that is why i think we are constantly changing as you mentioned above. It is sad but sometimes we want to hang on to the good memories so badly that we tend to forget the present. I been hanging on to some past lately as well but hopefully i will have more good futures to look forward to!!! =D

    I really enjoyed reading your post, as always!

    Cinz
    http://cinzee.wordpress.com

  2. I love the images you selected for this post. Very retro and so dreamlike. Agree about the perspective on life and living it. I think the most important thing to remember is not to regret anything that has happened in the past, as you will always learn from your experiences – even the bad ones.

Leave a Reply

